Toni (exerpts)

Publié le 14 Mars 2013

 

for Toni forever

 

Met this girl named Toni… blond blue eyes cutie pie sweet as honey…  and wild as they come… Toni was the sun and the moon to many a guy who wouldn’t ever get near her…

The motley crew of us used to meet at the Tiroler bar for a pint before we all mobbed down in a beeline for the Bowling Alley… to warm up for yet another one of our funky nights at the Carioca discotheque…

 

She used to flirt with me but whenever I got too near she made it perfectly clear…

There was that boy named Tony Anglo-Italian as I remember –who had a crush on the blondie… but whenever he got too near… this bubbly blonde bombshell… soon told him where to stand… just like me…

No there were no other guys… jus Tony and I… and Toni and I…

One day… one night… he almost got me to fight with him over her… but I’m a lover not a fighter…

 

Full of beans Toni mesmerised people and se magnetised the… drew them… like a magnet… Toni loved people and everybody loved Toni… Toni boomed… Toni beamed… Toni shone… radiating her joy of living all over… spreading happiness wherever she went… in a wake full of fun and love…

 

Toni walked out of my life one sunny day… one fine summer day… and devil may care I’ll be damned if I enquired about her…No grudge no grief no hard feelings… life moved on for all of us and so did Toni… and I just assumed Toni had flown off to sheltering skies of yonder wonder… and would reappear as if by the magic she worked on the world…

That’s the way the cookie crumbles…

Little did I realise then that Tony too had deserted our stamping ground…

 

 

Life went its jolly way and all was well until Razmick brings her name up again in a casual conversation some year later…

Do you remember Toni ? he beams…

Toni ? Tony’s Toni ? Who doesn’t ?

Yeah… Tony’s Toni… precisely…

Raz what am I supposed to know about Tony’s Toni ? That she married HIM in the end ? I thought I was being funny…

She did indeed… and the loving pair of them went off to their honeymoon in Belgium… but I read in the Gazette this morning… that they had met their death there… died in a car crash… She died and he died….

 

 

BLOW ME DOWN !

I was thunderstruck !

 

continue reading on

http://en.youscribe.com/catalogue/books/literature/literary-creation/keeping-me-company-1669318

 

Jesse CRAIGNOU


Rédigé par Jesse CRAIGNOU

Publié dans #Nouvelles Histoires - Short Stories

Repost0
Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article