Spinster Stories - Namesakes

Publié le 13 Juin 2016

for Linda and Tricia

One of my colleagues, Peter English, fancied one of my friends… and so I offered to introduce them… and the funny thing is they already had the same name… English…

So I arranged to me at the pub after work… and introduced… Peter English meet Patricia English… Patricia English meet Peter English… they laughed… and greeted one another…

‘Do you leave in Littlehampton Patricia ?

  • Yes, as a matter of fact I do… in Christchurch Road…
  • Christchurch Road ? I don’t believe it ! I live in Christchurch Road too ! Number 22…
  • Number 99… we’re neighbours ! Let’s drink to that…
  • Married ? Any kids ?
  • Divorced two kids… you ?
  • Divorced… two kids… laughs…
  • And you know this is serendipitous my ex-husband is called Peter…
  • And my ex-wife’s called Patricia… more laughs… what are your kids’ names ?
  • Kevin and Sean…
  • Oh no ! My sons are called Kevin and Sean !
  • They both go to Saint Mary’s College…
  • Some do mine… what a match !
  • Yeah we couldn’t have had it better !’

Incidentally that was my last day at work and I moved away that weekend… I never heard of them again… I sometimes think about them and imagine them happily married… a match made in Heaven…

Jesse CRAIGNOU

Read more

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Jesse-CRAIGNOU/e/B00CMJY4HM/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1464423566&sr=1-2-ent

Rédigé par Jesse CRAIGNOU

Publié dans #Littérature - Literature

Repost0
Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article