Silence Speaks... Louder Than Words !

Publié le 23 Novembre 2014

My teenage years were sold to disco music... a genre that has nuts and bolts moving and shaking, banging and booming...

That was until I 'stumbled upon' Arvo Pärt... and his music... and ventured into new music territories that largely included silence as part of the whole works... leading me to discover the space between the words... and eventually to become a music therapist...

In my classes and workshops I regularly use music... and get asked about 'that' music I was playing...

Arvo Pärt's Fratres let me hear the music of heaven's prayer between the lines !

Having also trained as an NLP and General Semantics practitioner I soon put two and two together... and started craving for that treasure respite of silence in this hectic helper skelter world and life we're living...

People negotiating business deals too often forget than 'not only the words do the talking'... and they rattle on until they have their addressee lost in the mire of their words... silence is more than anything the punctuation of words and thoughts...

I was referring this to a writer friend the other day upon offering her a book... and she too was surprised... her African culture had not prepared her for silence and yet... African are known and renowned for their talk and speaking skills...

As a kid my mother used to say that I would end up a monk as I spent hours going round merely silent... pondering about things and issues... which has led me to think better and faster... strangely enough...

In the course of my work I always make sure I leave time to talk about silence... and highlight the benefits of not being won over by words... silence shall overcome... always...

Ask me how

Jesse CRAIGNOU

http://www.amazon.com/Jesse-CRAIGNOU/e/B00CMJY4HM/ref=la_B00CMJY4HM_pg_1?rh=n%3A283155%2Cp_82%3AB00CMJY4HM&sort=review-count-rank&ie=UTF8&qid=1407623657&ajr=1

Rédigé par Jesse CRAIGNOU

Publié dans #Teaching - Training & Coaching in Words

Repost0
Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article